General Information

Tanzania is one of the countries located in Eastern Africa along The Indian Ocean. It is a United Republic because Tanganyika (The mainland) united with Zanzibar in 1964 to form one country Tanzania. Zanzibar is an Island in the Indian Ocean about 73.43 Km from Tanzania mainland. Tanganyika got its independence in 1961 and Zanzibar in 1963. In 26th April, 1964 Tanganyika and Zanzibar united.
Tanzania has an area of about 947, 283 km square in which around 945,000 km square is the mainland. Its capital city is Dodoma, situated in the middle of the country and centre of business is Dar es salaam.

Its Population is approximated to be 45 million in the census done in 2012 but now estimated to be around 50 million. These people are among about 126 ethnic groups with their own dialects but united with one language, Swahili. The official languages are Swahili and English.

Currency used in Tanzania is Shillings with different denominations from 50 to 10,000. Tsh 50, 100 and 200 are coins and 500, 1,000, 2,000, 5,000 and 10,000 are notes. There are Tsh 5, 10 and 20 but they are rarely used.

Tanzania is 3 hours ahead of Greenwich Mean Time (GMT +3).

There is freedom of worship/religion in Tanzania. Christians are numerous in population, followed by Muslims then other religions.

Tanzania is the unique destination with plenty of resources, both natural and cultural, which are found in different parts of the country

> Mount Kilimanjaro
> Ngorongoro Conservation Area Authority
> Serengeti National Park
> Zanzibar Stone Town and House of wonder
> Bagamoyo
> Mineral: Tanzanite
> Unique Tradional tribes: Maasai, Hadzabe and Mang’ati